Michael Zgurovsky

Adapting to Climate Change: Gaining the Advantage Conference

June 6, 2012

Dr. Michael  Zgurovsky is a well-known scientist in the field of mathematics and system analysis. He generalized basic notions of system analysis theory, formulated fundamentals of system mathematics, proposed a new approach to theory of external problems for non-linear operator, differential-operator equations and inclusions and variation inequalities in Banach space. Zgurovsky guided the creation of a World Data Center for Geoinformatics and Sustainable Development (WDC-Ukraine). Among the basic tasks of WDC-Ukraine are collecting, handling and storing science data and providing access to it for research and education.

Zgurovsky is a doctor of technical sciences, a member of National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine and a foreign member of the Russian Academy of Science. He is the head of the Association of Rectors of Technical Universities of Ukraine, rector of the National Technical University of Ukraine, i.e. “Kiev Polytechnic Institute” and director of the Institute for Applied System Analysis. From 1994-1999, he was a minister of education for Ukraine, and he took an active part in creating a number of laws on education, establishing and developing a state accreditation commission and making considerable contributions to reform Ukraine’s education system.

Zgurovsky is the author of more than 350 scientific publications, including 35 books which were published in different countries, and the author/creator of 50 inventions. He is a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Ukrainian delegate to the Committee on Data for Science and Technology, the national representative of the Ukraine in International Council for Science, member of Earth Data Network for Education and Science and president of the Central East European Institute of Sustainable Development. Zgurovsky has received state awards from Ukraine, Italy, Poland, Estonia and Vietnam. He is a three-time recipient of the State Prize of Ukraine in the field of science and engineering (1990, 1999, 2005), a recipient of the Glushkov Prize of National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (1996) and was named Honorary Scientist of Ukraine in 2000.